What's Happening

Louisa County

Louisa County is in the southeastern corner of Iowa.  It’s also bordered by the Mississippi River and is the smallest County by the population of the Quad-Counties.  The county seat is Wapello. One of the factors that make Louisa County unique is the high rate of a language other than English spoken in homes, 15% according to the U.S. Census Bureau.  That’s more than double the rate of the average in Iowa. For more information about the County, visit their website here.


  • Population, as of the 2010 Census: 11,387, 67th largest population in Iowa
  • Persons under 18 years old:  23.9%
  • Persons under 5 years old:  5.3%
  • High school graduate or higher, percent of persons age 25+, ‘09-13:  83.3%
  • Bachelor’s degree or higher, percent of persons age 25+, ‘09-13:  13.5%
  • The homeownership rate, ’09-13:  78.6%
  • Median household income, ’09-13:  $50,583
  • Percentage of persons below the poverty level, ’09-13:  12.2%

Communities within Lee County

  • Columbus City
  • Columbus Junction
  • Cotter
  • Fredonia
  • Grandview
  • Letts
  • Morning Sun
  • Oakville
  • Toolesboro
  • Wapello

Other Community Calendars